Posted by: shineonali | March 14, 2010

Turning on the Computer

I arrive home from a fabulous yoga class.  A little sweaty from the walk home, but still feeling that post-yoga glow.  Then I spy the pile of papers to correct sitting on top of my laptop where I’d left them.  I groan.  I don’t  feel like working, but I pour myself a glass of water and get down to it.

When I get through the papers, it’s time to fire up the laptop and check my RSS reader, finish planning, and comment on my students’ blogs.  Again, I groan.  Don’t get me wrong, I like these tasks, but we spent ALL DAY in front of a laptop yesterday for class, and then I spent a while longer on Facebook and Skype.  I’m tired of staring at a computer screen, even if it’s for fun!

Let’s get it over with.  I ease open the laptop, push the start button, and start to look through my papers for the checklist I use to keep track of blog posts.

When I glance up, I’m faced with the charming smile of my niece, my new desktop photo.  She’s wearing the dress I sent her from Bangkok, lying on a snuggly white blanket.  Her dark blue eyes are gazing off to the right, probably at her mom or dad, and her little hand is clenched at her side in a mini-fist.  She has reddish hair that is just starting to grow, and she looks delighted.  (Must be the dress.)

Turning on the computer isn’t so bad after all.


Responses

  1. Ah….the personalization of a laptop makes all the difference. 🙂

  2. […] for the holidays.  The plan is that my sister-in-law will pick me up at the airport, along with my almost-one-year-old niece.  I’m so excited to see her again that I can’t think about anything else […]

  3. I’ve been exploring for a little for any high quality articles or blog posts in this kind of space . Exploring in Yahoo I at last stumbled upon this site. Reading this information So i’m glad
    to convey that I have an incredibly excellent
    uncanny feeling I discovered exactly what I needed. I so much without a doubt will
    make sure to do not omit this web site and provides it a glance regularly.


Leave a comment

Categories